IRRATIONAL PASSION                               from community.tasteofhome.com

Am I too late for Valentine’s Day?

However, it doesn’t matter for I do not celebrate the special day. I criticize it (not the day but the manner it’s celebrated by some of us).

When people are in love they become unreasonable. I do not know why but sometimes, people in love find it “Ok” to go out in the middle of the night to buy a burger for their girl/boyfriend or skip classes just to be with the love of their life.

Call me insensitive but I’ll say that “To Live by Emotions is to live in an Illusion.”


Emotions are too complex to handle. The prevailing feeling of being at bliss, that is stuck within the fist-size heart, is too strong to handle that it needs to let loose. However, teenagers have their own way of expressing that feeling and that is by being irrational.

“I’ll follow you and make a heaven out of hell, and I’ll die by your hand which I love so well.”

Shakespeare’s words are so romantic however from the ears of teenagers it could be very poisonous.

Young adults have very innocent minds that “we” tend to believe anything that we see, hear and even feel. Thus, with this point of view, we disregard the possibility that the feeling may be unreal – a state of the mind or not everlasting.

Of course, I do not have any says to those couples who have been together for so long and celebrates Valentine’s Day. I’ll believe it’s cute and inspiring, but for teenagers who celebrate the event with more lavish and lots of exaggerations, well that’s too much.

A gift with some flowers is fine; however, a dinner for two in an extravagant restaurant with jewelry as a present is impractical for college students who do not have any source of income.

My final words would be that there’s always such thing as the right time. It may sound KJ but trust me it is not fun to be in the future and hope that you did not tolerate the feeling that you thought was LOVE.

